A MASTERPIECE OF DRY-STONE WALL BUILDING
FOR HIKERS AND MTB CYCLISTS
Frux trail connects Lopar and Supetarska Draga both ways and is suitable for hikers and MTB cyclists. It is a part of a path known as Premužić's trail, a masterpiece of dry-stone wall building. Alongside archaeologically significant sections, you will come across dry-stone walls that indicate this area, rich in fertile soil and water sources, once having been extensively used for agricultural purposes. Particularly interesting natural and geologic features near the trail include Fruška lokva (pond) and fascinating soil erosions. Be sure to stop at Fruga area and have a closer look at them.
ABOUT SUPETARSKA DRAGA
During the reign of the Croatian king Petar Krešimir IV, the Rab prior (manager) Maius and the bishop Drago called the Benedictines with the friar Fulkon in 1059 to settle and found an abbey near the old church of St Peter. After obtaining a considerable piece of land, the Benedictines soon built a new three-nave church with vast abbey facilities on the site of the old early Christian basilica. As the citizens of Rab and the Church cultivated and took a large part of the Mundanije and Supetar valleys, they obtained the land for cultivating grain north of the creek flowing into the shallow bay – the entire area of the today’s Gornja Supetarska Draga, with karst slopes of Plogar overgrown with oak forest and the pasture on the plateau Fruga rich in water.
Near the abbey, in the area of Donja Supetarska Draga, they own a lot around the water spring with the little church of St Cyriac. They also obtained the large surface of the peninsula Gonar with the church of St Cyprian. The churches of St Cyprian and St Cyriac no longer exist owing to the urbanization of the landscape. The diligent Benedictines soon made salt pans on the shallow coast which brought them considerable profit.